Jordan Robinson = My hero

For many of you know that my younger brother Jordan went to be with Jesus yesterday. He is my hero, he showed me how to be Christ-like in good and bad times. He was always the more quiet, laid back brother but had a passion to love others and show them Jesus. He is my inspiration and my best friend. He was always there for me and through his battle with cancer, he fought like a warrior. Jordan’s example of patience, hard work, love and passion for Christ will always live in my heart and I pray that you share with others his story and the gospel. Remember to tell the people in your life that you love them.

Thank you to those who have prayed and encouraged Jordan through his battle with cancer. Jordan would want all people to come to know Christ, and I pray that many people come to know Jesus through his example.

Jordan’s home-going time will be:

Visitation Friday night from 6-8:30pm at: Thomas McAfee Funeral home, 639 N Main St., Greenville, SC 29601

The funeral is Saturday at 11am at White Oak Baptist Church, Greenville, SC.

Thank you for the many calls, emails and words for Jordan, myself and my family.

Click HERE to read more on Jordan’s story.

Keep striving for Christ. Keep telling lost people about the gospel of Jesus that Jordan lived for everyday.

10 responses to “Jordan Robinson = My hero

  1. what a nice tribute you did 4 Jordan..I know he must be so proud!! our prayers are with you and your entire family 4 healing and strength..God Bless you all!!

  2. de dee, its got to be hard through this. Stay strong in the Lord and realize His plan. His will was fulfilled to bring Jordan home. Let us not lose sight of His will for us, to bring others to Christ through Jordans story, the Word of God and living for Him.
    Love you man
    Strother

  3. Josh – we love you and your family and are praying for you. No person can know the pain and loss you feel, only the Lord. I pray you will draw close to Him. Your blog honors God and Jordan … and demonstrates great faith.

  4. Josh and Cassidy: I love that last picture! And what a great memorial to your brother. I cannot imagine how much you will miss him and I pray God will encourage your hearts. Here in Jax, we are thinking of you constantly. I pray that the hope that Jesus gives will be an anchor for your soul; firm and secure. (Hebrews 6:19)

  5. Dave & Elaine Sheldon

    Josh and Cassidy,
    We are praying for you. What a beautiful legacy Jordan leaves behind.
    Dave & Elaine

  6. Josh, You all have been in our thoughts and prayers for the last several months as Jordan has battled cancer. He was such a special young man. It was such a pleasure to get to know your wonderful family because of our connection to Jordan through Rachel. I know that you all were and will continue to be such a wonderful example of hope to so many because of your relationship with Jesus. It’s so hard to understand why things like this happen to someone like Jordan but God has a purpose and we just have to trust Him. Rachel is on her way up with friends to be there for the funeral. We wish that we could’ve been there too. We’ll continue to lift you all up to the Lord for His strength during this difficult time. We will NEVER forget sweet Jordan. Love, Cindy Brown

  7. Josh:

    I did not know Jordon very well but your entire family illuminates that Christ is – and has always been – at the core of your family. I weeped the day Jordon arrived in the presence of God not so much because I knew him but because the Holy Spirit welled up in me to intercede w/greiving your loss. God created us to love one another and we would not be of God if we did not weep, greiving is part of our created beings. God said blessed are those who mourn for they will be comforted. Josh your family is the rock and our family has joined with the thousands of others lifting all of you up during this time. May God be glorified in you and your family’s demonstration of true faith. Even Justin’s comment on his bulletin that said, “Don’t say you know how I feel because you don’t” is being real and that is what glorifies Christ in our lives. Its an honor to have met all of you and to rejoice that your brother has arrived and is complete. Here is part of an article I found that explains what I was trying to:

    Grief, when not dealt with, can cut us off from others. Grief can paralyze our day-to-day functioning in ways that can be embarrassing. None of us are immune from grief. That is why the Good Book encourages us to ‘weep with those who weep’. Grieving is best done when a loving community and family surround us with their thoughts and prayers. We have to fight the temptation in grief that makes us want to hide away and try to handle it ourselves. Time by itself heals nothing. In fact, refusing to weep with those who weep can actually make us sick, sick at heart, sick in body, sick in spirit. How much unnecessary cancer, heart disease and arthritis comes because we refuse to grieve?

    That is why the most famous person in the universe said: ‘Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted’. Jesus knew that there is a healing that can come when we face our grief head-on. There is a comfort that can come when we are willing to be honest about how tough it has been to lose our loved ones. There is a blessing that will come when we let the tears flow and allow others to listen deeply to our pain. Even Jesus, the Son of God, went through intense grief and loss. The shortest verse in the bible is simply ‘Jesus wept’. Weeping is an expression of the depth of our love.

    I have found that grieving will not destroy me, but refusing to grieve will. Grieving will not cause me to fall apart, but rather fall together. Grieving will not bring a breakdown, but rather a breakthrough. So many of the dysfunctional and addictive things that we do in life are the fruit of our unwillingness to do the hard work of grieving. But running from death always brings death, death of hope, death of peace and death of intimacy.

    By embracing death on that painful cross, Jesus broke the power of death to destroy our hopes and dreams. By rising from the dead, Jesus proved that death does not have the final word. By faith in Jesus’ resurrection, we will see our loved ones again. We need not fear as we grieve, for Jesus has them in his loving arms.

  8. Josh,

    21 years ago on my birthday, it was special because I had a new nephew born. How special it has been all these years to remember & thank God for Jordan on Aug 24. This year I had to tell God to wish him Happy Birthday for me. How special was that!!! Yes we will all miss him. Richard will miss talking all the basketball stuff with him. Uncle Johnny and I will miss his optimism. We can not begin to have the same sadness as you, Cassidy, Justin, Jeff, your mom and your dad. But we are sad. We wish we could have been there but we were there in our hearts. We will continue to pray for you all.

    Always remember we love you though we are far away in Texas.

  9. I am touched everyday as I think of your brother and what all you boys have meant in my life. I’m so glad you’re serving God and doing well. He will never be forgotten. That is my solemn promise to you!

    God Bless.

    I wrote about him today in my blog: speaktopia.blogspot.com

  10. Jennifer Robinson

    Josh, I loved your tribute to Jordan. Christian Healthcare Ministries quoted part of your blog in their Octover 2008 Brother’s Keeper newsletter. I thought it was wonderful. I don’t know how they knew of your blog, but I am grateful that hundreds of folks can read about it this month. I love you and am very proud of you. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

